Literary Agency: Publishers


Turnstone Press

Turnstone Press Logo.
Ravenstone Books logo.

Founded in a Winnipeg pub in 1976 to publish chapbooks by Manitoba poets, Turnstone Press has become one of the most highly regarded book publishers in western Canada, publishing not only poetry but also fiction, literary criticism and non-fiction. In 1998 Turnstone Press launched Ravenstone Books, an imprint dedicated to mysteries, thrillers, and noir fiction.

Turnstone Press is committed to its literary and cultural role in Manitoba and Canada and its mandate reflects this. It considers only Canadian authors or landed immigrants and strives to publish a significant number of new writers in a variety of genres.

Turnstone Press prides itself on taking chances with new writers and it has had its share of successes doing so. Indeed, Turnstone Press has launched the careers of many Canadian writers, including, Di Brandt, Miriam Toews, John Gould, Lawrence Hill, Sylvia Legris, Margaret Sweatman, Armin Wiebe, Sandra Birdsell and others.

Turnstone Press’ books and authors have won or been nominated for The Governor General’s Literary Awards, The Commonwealth Writers Prize, The Giller Prize, The Leacock Prize, The IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, The Lambda Awards, The Rogers Writers’ Trust Prize, The Relit Awards, and numerous regional awards.

Despite the risk inherent in publishing new Canadian literary writing, Turnstone Press remains committed to pursuing and promoting new, thought-provoking authors and books. Canadian writing has never been more exciting, and Turnstone Press is proud to have been a part of its history and keenly looks forward to the future.